Second Skin


SKU: SS Category:


204 Records
Released July 30, 2002.
Produced by Kenny Greenberg, et al.

“Refusing to fit any molds either the mainstream or Christian music community might have in mind for her, Ashley Cleveland is one of the strongest and most righteous voices on the face of modern pop music. Cleveland has won multiple Grammy and Dove awards and toured with John Hiatt, but Second Skin, her fifth album, is her most ambitious and gritty recording to date. The release includes take-no-prisoner rockers, sweet pop tunes, soulful ballads, and slow-burning blues songs, plus splendid hybrids of them all. Her voice is smooth, strong, and incredibly expressive, adaptable to a wide array of song styles. She might remind you of Melissa Etheridge on one song, Bonnie Raitt on another, and Sheryl Crow on the next, but mostly she’ll just remind you of herself. Cleveland smartly retools Hiatt’s “Riding with the King” in a manner that implicitly replaces its original subject–Elvis–with Jesus Christ, while her covers of Tom Waits and Neil Young are irresistibly straightforward. Her own songs, especially “Wired” and “Don’t Let Me Fall,” reveal grace, humility, and courage. Now this is how rock gospel oughta sound!” — Mike McGonigal,

Track Listing

1. Could Be Talkin’
2. Power of Love
3. Land of the Living
4. Faith Like A Little Child
5. Riding With The King
6. Broken Places
7. Try Too Hard
8. What It Takes
9. The Needle and The Damage Done
10. Don’t Let Me Fall
11. Jesus Gonna Be Here
12. Life Is War
13. Wired

Liner Notes

Produced by Kenny Greenberg.

Recorded, rerecorded, wrecked, fixed, and mixed at Ken’s Gold Club, Franklin, TN.

Additional production: Matt Rollings: Wired, Power of Love, Riding With The King, Don’t Let Me Fall, Life Is War, Broken Places… Chad Cromwell: What It Takes, Faith Like A Little Child, Jesus Gonna Be Here, Try Too Hard… Michael Rhodes: What It Takes, Try Too Hard… Plural Z: Riding With The King, Could Be Talkin’… Gordon Kennedy: Land Of The Living.

Most of this record was recorded and mixed by Mills Logan… Wired mixed by David Leonard at Quad Studios, Nashville, TN… Riding With The King and Broken Places mixed by Mills Logan at Quad Studios.

Additional engineering: Justin Neibank at Hounds Ear Studio… Glenn Spinner at Son Dance Kid Studio… Rocky Schnaars at Ken’s Gold Club.

Mastered by: Ken Love at MasterMix.

Special thanks to Justin Neibank for helping us jumpstart this record.

Photography and styling: Kristin Barlowe.
Hair and makeup: Sheila Davis.
Art direction and design: JuLee Brand.
Cover painting: Jimmy Abegg.

Thanks to Lee Roy Parnell and Donna McKenzie for the use of the Cadillac.

Thanks to: Yamaha Guitars, Keyboards, and Electronics, Line G Corp., PRS Guitars, Taylor Guitars, Gibson and Epiphone Corp., Street Level Artist Agency, Rose Capanna, Paula Antonelli, Lisa Howard, Therese Romano, Steve Thomas, Buddy and Julie Miller, John Hiatt, Steve Winwood, and Jim DeMain.

We are grateful to all the great players, singers, and friends who freely lent their talents to this recording and to Mills Logan for going above and beyond.

On a personal note, thanks to Burney Sheeks, Lydia Hutchison, the tuesday morning undesirables, Pam Lea, and everyone at Davidson Road.

This one is for our kids; do what you love.