Second Skin

204 Records
Released July 30, 2002.
Produced by Kenny Greenberg, et al.

“Refusing to fit any molds either the mainstream or Christian music community might have in mind for her, Ashley Cleveland is one of the strongest and most righteous voices on the face of modern pop music. Cleveland has won multiple Grammy and Dove awards and toured with John Hiatt, but Second Skin, her fifth album, is her most ambitious and gritty recording to date. The release includes take-no-prisoner rockers, sweet pop tunes, soulful ballads, and slow-burning blues songs, plus splendid hybrids of them all. Her voice is smooth, strong, and incredibly expressive, adaptable to a wide array of song styles. She might remind you of Melissa Etheridge on one song, Bonnie Raitt on another, and Sheryl Crow on the next, but mostly she’ll just remind you of herself. Cleveland smartly retools Hiatt’s “Riding with the King” in a manner that implicitly replaces its original subject–Elvis–with Jesus Christ, while her covers of Tom Waits and Neil Young are irresistibly straightforward. Her own songs, especially “Wired” and “Don’t Let Me Fall,” reveal grace, humility, and courage. Now this is how rock gospel oughta sound!” — Mike McGonigal,

Track Listing

1. Could Be Talkin’
2. Power of Love
3. Land of the Living
4. Faith Like A Little Child
5. Riding With The King
6. Broken Places
7. Try Too Hard
8. What It Takes
9. The Needle and The Damage Done
10. Don’t Let Me Fall
11. Jesus Gonna Be Here
12. Life Is War
13. Wired