Men and Angels Say

BHT Entertainment/Rambler/204
Released February 15, 2005.
Produced by Kenny Greenberg and Ashley Cleveland.

Named one of Christianity Today’s Best Albums of 2005.

“With so many albums of reworked hymns released in 2005, it’s only fitting that we start off recognizing one of the best. The key in making an album like this work is a fine balance of fresh interpretation, musical versatility, and faithfulness to the texts and melodies of the source material. Ashley Cleveland has long been heralded as one of the greatest voices in the history of Christian music, and her bluesy, smoky pipes are a comfortable match for these church standards. You’ve rarely heard “Precious Lord, Take My Hand” and “I Need Thee Every Hour” belted with such conviction and soul—naturally, since Cleveland says songs like these literally saved her life when she was strung out on drugs years ago. Hymns are indeed powerful medicine for the soul.”

Track Listing

1. Come Ye Sinners
2. Surely Goodness and Mercy
3. Nothing But the Blood
4. Power in the Blood
5. Christ the Lord is Risen Today
6. I Need Thee Every Hour
7.  All Creatures of Our God and King
8. It Is Well with My Soul
9. Precious Lord, Take My Hand
10. Holy, Holy, Holy
11. Come Thou Fount
12. What a Friend We Have in Jesus